Our Job as Designers:
Making Things Work

We are a multidisciplinary team of specialists in the fields of analysis, conception, storytelling, graphic design, prototyping and programming.

Technical know-how is highly esteemed in our team. This know-how allows us to choose solutions which go far beyond the limits of purely visual design. For our problem solving we use the spectrum of technical and creative tools in full breadth.

We create more
than simply “attractive”
user interfaces.
Design to us means:
Making things work

We have gained great experience in the positioning of digital products. As designers of user experience we devise concepts transcending the confines of mere usability and design. This results in products amounting to far more than the sum of the individual features.

We are sparring partners for executive staff members – but no consulting firm that merely projects presentation slides and makes recommendations. Our support emerges from the design itself: At the end of our job we have a sophisticated product, a functional prototype, an instantly implementable concept, in other words there’s always a specific solution.

We get to the core of the challenges, our customers are confronted with and deliver tailor-made, meaningful solutions.

Your contact partners:
The Illustree Management

David Höller

Founder & Managing Director

David Höller is one of Austria’s leading user experience designers. As content-related general manager, he is responsible for the conception and creative implementation of numerous design solutions.

David Höller studied at the Technical University of Vienna, and then developed mission-critical software with PDTS for several years. In 1999 he founded Illustree together with Thomas Pfaller. Additionally, for more than ten years David has been sharing his knowledge on contemporary user and customer designs at the Universities of Applied Sciences of Hagenberg, Salzburg and St. Pölten.

He found his way to design through technology. And it has profoundly influenced his outlook:

As designers, we are
creative problem solvers.
The quality and precision of the
solution is what counts,
not the artistry in our sketches.
David Höller

The passionate keyboarder and sound wizard does not only love 80s-synthie-pop, but also travelling. Our office has received design ideas reduced to the format of a postcard from as far afield as Belize, Armenia, Georgia, Pakistan and the Iran.

Keqiao Xu

Team & User Experience Lead

In the Illustree team Keqiao Xu is the head of the design team and thus bears the main responsibility for user experience design.

Simplicity to me means
to work oneself
through the depths
to the core of the complexity –
to actually penetrate it.
Keqiao Xu

The experienced product and project manager has devoted his most recent efforts to the concept and functionality of the new digital touchpoints created for ÖBB (Austrian Rail).

Before he was recruited by Illustree in 2013, Keqiao Xu worked as a product manager for A1 Telekom Austria AG. Being responsible for the development of new digital services, he made “Mein A1” the most frequently used A1-app.

Thomas Pfaller

Founder & Concept Director

At Illustree Thomas Pfaller is responsible for conception and strategic planning. After gaining experience in the fields of digital media, database design and software architecture (amongst others with OPS, Vienna) he founded Illustree together with David Höller in 1999.

It is important to us
that everything
about our concepts
is immediately plausible.
Thomas Pfaller

From 2003 to 2013 Thomas Pfaller taught Multimedia Development as part of the Information Design course at the Joanneum, University of Applied Sciences in Graz.

Much like David, rock bassist Thomas devotes a substantial portion of his leisure time to music. His adoration of Frank Zappa goes to the extent that his son Mika even shares his birthday with old master Zappa.

Unser Job als Designer:
Making Things Work

Wir sind ein multidisziplinäres Team von Spezialisten in den Bereichen Analyse, Konzeption, Storytelling, Grafikdesign, Prototyping und Programmierung.

Technisches Know-how besitzt einen hohen Stellenwert in unserem Team. Dieses Know-How erlaubt es uns, Lösungswege zu gehen, die weit über das rein visuelle „Gestalten“ hinausreichen. Wir nutzen die volle Bandbreite an technischen und gestalterischen Tools zur Problemlösung.

Wir beschränken uns
nicht darauf, nur „schöne“
Oberflächen zu schaffen.
Design bedeutet für uns:
Making things work

Wir haben Erfahrung in der Positionierung digitaler Produkte. Als User Experience Designer denken wir über die Usability und die pure Gestaltung hinaus. Und schaffen Produkte, die weit mehr sind als die Summe der einzelnen Features.

Wir sind Sparringpartner für Führungskräfte – aber keine Beraterfirma, die nur Folien projiziert und Ratschläge erteilt. Unsere Unterstützung kommt aus dem Design selbst: Am Ende unserer Arbeit steht ein durchdachtes Produkt, ein lauffähiger Prototyp, ein sofort umsetzbares Konzept, also immer eine konkrete Lösung.

Wir durchdringen die Herausforderungen, vor denen unsere Kunden stehen, und liefern maßgeschneiderte, sinnvolle Lösungen.

Ihre Ansprechpartner:
Das Illustree Management

David Höller

Founder & Managing Director

David Höller ist einer der führenden User Experience Designer Österreichs. Als inhaltlicher Gesamtlead ist er für die Konzeption und kreative Umsetzung einer Vielzahl von Designlösungen verantwortlich.

Nach dem Studium an der Technischen Universität Wien entwickelte David Höller mission-critical Software für Frequentis. 1999 gründete er gemeinsam mit Thomas Pfaller Illustree, wo er seitdem für die Bereiche Technologie und Design die Verantwortung trägt. Daneben hält Höller immer wieder Vorträge und Lehrveranstaltungen über Experience Design und Development, etwa an den Fachhochschulen Wien, Hagenberg, Salzburg und St. Pölten.

Sein Weg zum Design hat über die Technik geführt. Das hat seine Philosophie geprägt:

Als Designer sind wir
kreative Problemlöser.
Die Qualität und die Präzision
der Lösung zählen, nicht die
Kunstfertigkeit unserer Zeichnungen.
David Höller

Der leidenschaftliche Keyboarder und Soundtüftler liebt nicht nur den Sound der 80er Jahre, sondern auch das Reisen. Auf Ansichtskartengröße komprimierte Design-Ideen erreichten das Illustree-Team unter anderem aus Belize, Armenien, Georgien, Pakistan und dem Iran.

Keqiao Xu

Team & User Experience Lead

Im Team von Illustree ist Keqiao Xu hauptverantwortlicher User Experience Designer und Leiter des Designteams.

Einfachheit heißt
für mich: sich durch die
Tiefen der Komplexität
hindurchzuarbeiten. Die
Komplexität wirklich zu
durchdringen.
Keqiao Xu

Der erfahrene Produkt- und Projektmanager hat zuletzt vor allem das Konzept und die Funktionalität der neuen digitalen Touchpoints für die Österreichischen Bundesbahnen maßgeblich beeinflusst.

Bevor ihn Illustree im Jahr 2013 an Bord holte, war Keqiao Xu Produktmanager bei der A1 Telekom Austria AG, und dort für die Entwicklung neuer digitaler Services verantwortlich. Als Product Owner machte er „Mein A1“ zur meistgenutzten App von A1.

Thomas Pfaller

Founder & Concept Director

Thomas Pfaller ist bei Illustree für Konzeption und strategische Planung verantwortlich. Nachdem er zehn Jahre lang Erfahrung im Bereich digitale Medien, Datenbankdesign und Software Architecture gesammelt hatte (u.a. bei OPS, Wien), gründete er 1999 gemeinsam mit David Höller Illustree.

Uns ist wichtig, dass
an unseren Konzepten
alles unmittelbar
einleuchtend ist.
Thomas Pfaller

Zwischen 2003 und 2013 unterrichtete Thomas Pfaller Multimedia Development im Rahmen des Studiengangs Information Design an der Fachhochschule Joanneum in Graz.

Wie David, widmet auch Rockbassist Thomas einen Großteil seiner Freizeit der Musik. Seine Verehrung für Frank Zappa geht dabei so weit, dass sein Sohn Mika an Zappas Geburtstag zur Welt kam.